City Council To Consider Dog Park Budget

Now is the time to reach out to the Takoma Park City Council and City Manager.  The Council and Manager are beginning budget talks and deciding their budget priorities.  There will be many pressures from many sides, and it’s possible the dog park could get crowded out in that discussion. Take action and prevent that from happening.

Please email City Council members and the City Manager, requesting that they budget sufficient funds to complete the first city dog park by the end of the year.  Your short email is extremely important!

Below are the email addresses and phone numbers for the Council and Manager as well as a sample letter you can use.

Simply click the email address and an email should be created for you to send. Just add your name and hit send!

Bruce Williams, Mayor
240-676-6234
Brucew@takomaparkmd.gov

Ward 1 Council Member
Seth Grimes
301-873-8225
SethG@takomaparkmd.gov

Ward 2 Council Member
Tim Male
240-274-0341
TimM@takomaparkmd.gov

Ward 3 Councilmember
Kay Daniels-Cohen
240-478-8463
KayDC@takomaparkmd.gov

Ward 4 Councilmember
Terry J. Seamens
301-565-0190
TerryS@takomaparkmd.gov

Ward 5 Councilmember
Jarrett Smith
301-960-7462
JarrettS@takomaparkmd.gov

Ward 6 Councilmember
Fred Schultz
301-434-7090
FredS@takomaparkmd.gov

City Manager 
Brian Kenner
301-891-7268
BrianK@takomaparkmd.gov

Deputy City Manager 
Suzanne Ludlow
301-891-7229
SuzanneL@takomaparkmd.gov     

 

Dear Council Member _____________:

Thank you for previously expressing support for building a dog park in Takoma Park. I know that the City Council is currently setting budget priorities.  I ask that you put your verbal support of the dog park into action by fully funding completion of the dog park by the end of this year.

There are an estimated 4,250 dogs in Takoma Park, or about one dog for every four Takoma Park residents.  Dog owners bring an estimated $2,898,500 annually to the Takoma Park area.   Now is the time to support this economic development and give dog owners a place to bring their dogs.  Dogs who frequent dog parks are better socialized and less aggressive.  Dog parks are good for pet owners, their dogs, and the entire City.

I look forward to your vote in favor of full dog park funding this year!

Sincerely,